Vanessa Jackson

Vanessa Jackson, vanessa.jackson@uky.edu. Dr. Jackson is chair of HES Tourism and Hospitality Management. She and Merideth Moody of Buffalo Trace Distillery in Frankfort Kentucky are teaching Kentucky Bourbon Tourism.

Czarena Cofcheck

Czarena Crofcheck, crofcheck@uky.edu. Dr. Crofcheck is a professor in the Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering Department (BAE). Her research area focusses on bioprocessing, downstream processing, and development of value-added products. She co-teaches a fermentation class (BAE 549) where students learn about the complexity of fermentation organisms and the food engineering processes that are required for the production of safe and healthy foods. Outside of her career she has been touring and studying breweries, distilleries, and wineries for over 20 years. Within DWBS, she teaches AEN 341 Brewing Science and Technology. This class includes topics including beer history, beer production, beer marketing, and beer appreciation.

Jeff Rice

Jeff Rice, j.rice@uky.edu. Dr. Rice is Chair and Martha B. Reynolds Professor in Writing, Rhetoric and Digital Studies (http://sweb.uky.edu/~jri236/, http://www.ydog.net, http://makeminepotato.ydog.net). Be a whiskey, craft beer or a wine, every product needs a story. Dr. Rice pioneers the complex subject of developing the story that goes with a product and getting it to the right audience in our modern era of social media. He organized the international Craft Writing conference and has written multiple books and peer reviewed articles on this subject. He teaches craft writing.   

Mike Barrett

Mike Barrett, barrett@uky.edu. Dr. Barrett is a weed scientist by training but his true love is wine appreciation. He is trained to teach the history and concept process of wine appreciation. He teaches wine appreciation in the fall and spring. 

Jeff Wheeler

Jeff Wheeler, jeff.wheeler@uky.edu. Dr. Wheeler is our resident winemaker and teaches introductory classes for viticulture and winemaking. He works closely with industry as an extension specialist and brings a wealth of knowledge to every class. 

Bert Lynn

Bert Lynn, bclynn2@uky.edu. Dr. Lynn is an analytical chemist with a wealth of experience in mass spectrometry. He has published over 100 papers on the subject and teach Spirit Chemistry dedicated to the chemical basis of fermentation.  

Brad Berron

Brad BerronBrad Berron, brad.berron@uky.edu, Dr. Berron is a chemical engineer and focused on decoding distillation. He teaches distillation in his undergraduate classes and collaborates with local craft distilleries on key research questions. See his interests at http://berron.engineering.uky.edu/.

Rodney Andrews

Rodney Andrews, rodney.andrews@uky.edu. Dr. Andrews is the director of the Center for Applied Energy Research and has spent a decade examining fermentation of complex substrates into alcohol. As a chemical engineer he is actively involved in whiskey research and development questions. 

Patsy Wilson

Patsy Wilson, Patsy.Wilson@uky.edu. Dr. Wilson is our resident viticulturalist (the study of wine grape production). Her research looks at climatic tolerance of grapes for the Kentucky climate to help growers and producers alike. 

Christine Trinkle

Christine Trinkle, c.trinkle@uky.edu. A Mechanical Engineer, Dr. Trinkle studies ways to improve analytical procedures for winemakers, distillers and brewers.

Seth DeBolt

Seth DeBolt

Seth DeBolt, sdebo2@uky.edu . Dr. DeBolt earned his PhD by discovered how grapes make their unique acid, which enables flavor and aging complexity. More recently, he works on the flavors and processes that occur during bourbon aging. He is program director and teaches Wine, Brewing and Distillation Science.